Aquavit, Herring, Bouillabaisse and Stone Fruits

2011/09/24 § 5 Comments

Dear Friends – I know it’s been a while.

And I’ve missed you all.  

But I’ve been unspeakably busy (in a really good way) and owe you many, many posts.  I still have leftover summer stories though fall has crept in slowly.

A friend posted a photo of an aquavit bottle which reminded me of one of my last summer dining adventure here in New York.  I had several errands in midtown east and was quite starved when I found myself in front of Aquavit.  And since I haven’t been there in years, I decided to pop in for lunch.

You will love the restaurant if you are into mid-century everything.  Look at the beautiful Arne Jacobsen Swan sofa set here.

And the Swan and Egg chairs.  And barstools.

Under the long, undulating, wood ceiling.

Even the plates, charger and cutlery are mid-century.

Here is what I had for lunch -

Assorted bread

with butter sitting on volcanic stone…

Matjes Herring

with pickled beets, red onion, egg, sour cream 

Scandinavian Bouillabaisse

with cod, mussels, root vegetables, parsley aioli 

(which I truly adored!)

Macerated Stone Fruits

vanilla panna cotta, long pepper ice cream, chocolate muesli

And although I did not have aquavit this time…I love looking at their display of housemade ones with the most delightful flavors –  anise, carraway and fennel, cucumber, horseradish, lemon and juniper, mango, lime and chili pepper, grapefruit, fig and cardammon, linie, and more.

Mmmmm….a great excuse to go back.  When the fall nights get chilly.

Though my days are absolutely rosy.

Hope yours are too!

xxx

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Aquavit, Herring, Bouillabaisse and Stone Fruits

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Aquavit, Herring, Bouillabaisse and Stone Fruits at The Farm, The Sea and The Big City.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

