NYC {august} Summer Dining

2010/10/17 § 6 Comments

I finally get to finish my summer dining posts.  Whew.

DAVID BURKE TOWNHOUSE at the Upper East Side

A grade school friend, Anna, spent several days with me in New York and we had the time of our lives walking around, dining out, talking about love, dreams, work, hardships, prospects and plans.  We dropped by David Burke’s Townhouse for late lunch and tried the Parfait of Big Eye Tuna and Salmon Tartars, Tomato Gazpacho with Crab Salad and Hijiki Seaweed, Grilled Flat Iron Steak and the house signature dessert, a Cheesecake Tree.  I like going to late lunch to avoid the crush.  I was at the same place before for dinner , when it was still David Burke and Donatella, and although I loved the food, I found the place too loud, too tight and too bustling.  Early lunch crowd is the same.  This time, Anna and I had all the time to talk, savor the food, take photos and laugh our heads off at some really, really funny thoughts we had…

LE CIRQUE at Midtown East


Because Anna and I didn’t stop making fun of ourselves (mainly), we ended up at the doorstep of Le Cirque for another one of our inside jokes.  The waiters must be wondering why we were having so much fun, especially since they couldn’t understand our language.  Anyway, we had Salade, Herb Raviolini and Escargot in Smoked Ham Broth, Pistachio Crusted Lamb Fillet, and Grilled Fluke and Calamari in Ginger and Lemon Verbena Broth.  I especially enjoyed the latter as it tasted similar to “sinigang.”  For dessert, Anna had the Creme Brulee while I had the Chocolate Ganache with Fresh Raspberries and Rose Petal Sorbet.  Loved how the rich and creamy chocolate blended with the tartness of the raspberries and the freshness of the sorbet.  And I could actually taste the rose petals.  Reminded me of Gabriel Garcia Marquez’s “Love in the Time of Cholera.”

NOBU in Tribeca

Another really good friend from Chicago, Jen, came to visit.   I’ve  missed her so and was happy to spend a few days with her before she flew to yet another country for work.  Sigh.  {I don’t know why I always think my friends will stay in one place forever.  I always regret not spending enough time with them when we’re still in one place because before I know it, we’re million miles apart and it’s just so difficult to see one another again.}

Since Jen wanted to go to the Anthropologie shop in Tribeca to hunt down a pair of earrings that was out of stock in the other branches, we ended up at Nobu for lunch.  Which I was really happy about.  Fresh, high-quality and well-prepared Japanese food just tastes different.  And way better.  Of course.  We had Sashimi Salad, a selection of Sushi and Broiled Black Cod with Miso.  They also had this amazing, refreshing dessert that we couldn’t get enough of – Sponge Cake infused with strawberry basil puree topped with orange blossom cream and drizzled with strawberry streusel and lime zest.  Yummmmm.

IPPUDO at the East Village

I must have gone to Ippudo every week for two straight months….and I haven’t tired of it, surprisingly.  It’s my favorite place to bring friends to and also the most requested restaurant  by friends from out of town.  Jen wanted to go there for dinner so we went.  Thankfully, we didn’t have to wait so long as there were only two of us.  We ordered a bowl of ramen each (my favorite is the Shiromaru Hakata Classic but sometimes I go for the richer one, the Akamaru Modern).  We also shared Pork Buns (oh, yummy pork buns!) and this interesting subtly spicy dish of Mascarpone Cheese and Tofu Salad drenched in olive oil.

I looked and looked  for a ramen photo only to realize that I don’t have one.  I’ve never taken a photo of the ramen noodle soup! I think it’s because it’s so highly anticipated that the only thought that crosses my mind when it’s served is to start eating.   I love Ippudo.  What keeps me from going back  more often than I already do is the long line that I can’t deal with, especially when hungry.  But when the craving starts….I just have to brave it.

MILOS ESTIATORIO at Midtown West

I was very happy to hear from a sorority sister, Pebbles, that she was in town and wanted to see me.  We had lunch a couple of months before in Manila and am glad she decided to touch base when she came to New York.  I loved Milos Estiatorio when I first went but I haven’t been back since so I suggested to meet there since it’s right smack half-way where we both live.  The lofty space is as elegant as ever.  And the food as good as I remembered.  Had Charcoal Grilled Scallops with Orange and Mint Salad , Loup de Mer, flown in from the island of Kephalonia, grilled and served with steamed crown broccoli, Lamb Chops and Walnut Cake (Karydo-Pita) with honey-lavender ice-cream.  It was a lunch filled with many, many stories and excellent food.  Time flies quickly when you’re having fun, as they say, and time went by without us noticing it.  We stayed til the restaurant was empty.  Thankfully, we’ve already set another dinner date in Manila ….

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to NYC {august} Summer Dining

  • Wow, what a feast! That chocolate ganache looks absolutely delicious!! 🙂 Paris in Pink

  • MMM, delicious! There are so many wonderful restaurants to try in NYC — I am going to remember this post of yours for the next time that I go. Thanks!

    Hope you’re having a great week so far…

    • Thanks for dropping by Sarah! I love, love your blog. Yes, please check out the rest of my summer dining adventures (june and july) as all those restaurants are certainly worth going to in New York. Do let me know when you’re in town.

  • Greetings, this is a genuinely absorbing web blog and I have cherished studying many of the content and posts contained on the web site, keep up the outstanding work and desire to read a good deal more stimulating articles in the future.

    • Thank you! I just write on everyday things that I find interesting or exciting and when I find images that inspire me. Do visit my blog often and hope you find more posts that are of interest to you.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading NYC {august} Summer Dining at The Farm, The Sea and The Big City.

meta

