Escargot and Bone Marrow for Breakfast, Anyone?

2011/01/18 § 2 Comments

It was a slow Saturday… watching the clouds and wondering what to do and what to eat.   Then I remember reading several great reviews of a “diner” supposedly serving “un-diner” food in Long Island City.  Curious, I checked Google Map to see how far away it is from me.  To my surprise – it’s less than 30 mins with no train transfer.  No long walk.  No reason not to go.  Called up a friend and we agreed to meet there.  In 45 mins.

I walk to the G Train ready for adventure.

Was a bit disoriented after emerging from the station as all I could see was 47 Rd around me.   All streets had 47 Rd sign…til someone pointed me to the right direction.   Apparently, it was just on the other side of the bridge where I was standing.  I cross bridge.  And, on the corner, of a gloomy stretch of street, on top of the train tracks – was this gray diner.  M Wells.

I went in to find a packed house.  Blues.  Pinks.   Warmth.  In stark contrast to the gray and cold chrome outside.

There was beautiful light streaming in from the wall of windows.  A vintage modern chandelier resembling stars in orbits.  On one side were  long rustic tables and a glass display filled with baked goodies.  On the other side were booths and a counter.  Although we waited a bit,  was more than happy to do so as it allowed me to watch the chefs prepare some of the dishes.  Every single thing coming out from behind the counters were objects of curiosity and amazement.

I had no clue what they were.  But they all looked good.  Take this photo for example:

First I saw yellow.   And pot.  Then chef kept throwing and piling things on top of yellow and pot looked yummier as it got buried in whatever was thrown on top of yellow.  I had to ask.  Apparently, it’s an Egg Souffle with Mushroom Broth and Bonito Flakes.

Upon being seated, we were presented with the Menu.   We couldn’t decide. We wanted to try all.   I wanted the Egg Souffle but friend doesn’t eat mushroom.  So one off the list.  I wanted the Pickled Pork Tongue but I don’t know if it was too early in the morning for that.  We ended up ordering the Escargot and Bone Marrow topped with crumbs….

The Caesar Salad with Herring Sauce

Coquille St. Jacques

…and Bacon and Hash with Brussel Sprouts

All pretty good!

It was after we ordered that we saw our neighbor’s Beef/Brisket/Foie Gras Meat Pie with homemade raspberry ketchup which he just had to tell us was outstanding.   Mmmm .  Some sense prevailed.  We resolved to come back for everything else we didn’t get to try.

As we were gathering our coats and scarves to leave, I was already dreaming of all the other dishes I’m going to come back for.  Add to list the Chicken Skin, Parmentier Soup and Banana Cream Pie (that they’ve ran out of when we ordered).

Who wants to go back with me soon?!

xxx

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Escargot and Bone Marrow for Breakfast, Anyone?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Escargot and Bone Marrow for Breakfast, Anyone? at The Farm, The Sea and The Big City.

meta

