Red Velvet Cake

2011/04/25 § 5 Comments

A dear friend tagged me on a red velvet cake photo and I couldn’t take my mind off it ever since.  The funny thing is I’ve never been a fan.  My best friend in Atlanta have made me try a couple and I always found them just sweet.  With not much flavor but sugar.

Ironically, I live very near a well-known Cake Shop selling nothing but Red Velvet Cake.  People from everywhere come to my area to buy and bring home red velvet cake from Cake Man Raven.  I like the shop front so I would always walk by it and peep in every now and then. I have never been particularly enamoured, however, of the stack upon stack of pre-sliced cakes in plastic containers.  Finally, I dropped by last week and got a slice.

VERDICT –  It is as good as they say it is.  And as good as I’ve been dreaming it to be – since seeing my friends’ photo.  Moist and spongy and…not so sweet it’s inedible.  In truth –  Cake Man Raven’s red velvet cake rocks!   It is bad to find something so addicting….and soooo accessible.  Tsk, tsk.  Now I’ll have to find a way to avoid that part of town…

For all my friends who bake (*Ros*) – here is the recipe taken from Time Out New York.  Please try it at home and let me know if it’s good.  If it is – you will find me knocking at your doorstep very soon.  Enjoy!

Recipe: Red-velvet cake

Courtesy of Cake Man Raven bakery

Serves 10–12

Cake

Dry ingredients:
2 1/2 cups cake flour
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp fine salt
1 tsp cocoa powder

Wet ingredients:
1 cup buttermilk
2 eggs
1 tsp vinegar (white distilled)
1 1/2 cups vegetable oil
1 oz red food coloring
1 tsp vanilla extract

1. Sift together all dry ingredients
2. Put wet ingredients into an electric mixing bowl and beat on medium speed until well incorporated.
3. Slowly add dry ingredients to mixing bowl until all ingredients are combined
4. Pour and spread evenly into a cake tin and bake at 350 degrees for 20–30 minutes
5. Remove and leave to cool. Make frosting while you wait.

Frosting

4 cups confectioners’ sugar
1 lb. cream cheese (room temperature)
1 lb. butter (softened)
2 tsp vanilla extract

1. Mix together the cream cheese and the softened butter. Gradually add confectioners’ sugar until it reaches desired sweetness and smoothness
2. Add vanilla extract and mix well
3. Apply frosting to cake top

xxx

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Red Velvet Cake

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Red Velvet Cake at The Farm, The Sea and The Big City.

meta

