“Watch out! I’m jumping in the puddle!”

2011/05/17 § 8 Comments

This is why I love rainy days.

And why I miss life and my childhood in the province so much.  

As children living in the tropics, where the heat gets oppressive all through summer- we can’t wait for those wispy clouds to get fat and gray and then burst into showers. When they do, we all run outside and dance and frolic in the rain.  We look for tiny pools and submerge ourselves even when they’re only a couple of inches high.  We splash in puddles and slip and slide where we can.  We look for gutters spewing the most water and pretend we’re bathing under waterfalls.

Oh, rain!

Today was wet and foggy so I went to the park.

There were many brightly-clad children in rain gears.  They were running around and falling down and telling secrets in circles…

And then I saw younger ones running and screaming “Watch out!  I’m jumping in the puddle!”  I couldn’t keep this bubble of delight down.  I couldn’t help but laugh with them and I stayed to watch while they played and muddied themselves.  Some started going up the hill and running down full-tilt straight into the puddle and trying to make the biggest splash.  It was a joy to see children’s faces and hands covered in grass and dirt.  And bright twinkles and big smiles.

Oh…to be young again!

“Life is not about waiting for the storm to pass….it is about learning to dance in the rain.”

xxx

Tagged: , , ,

§ 8 Responses to “Watch out! I’m jumping in the puddle!”

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading “Watch out! I’m jumping in the puddle!” at The Farm, The Sea and The Big City.

meta

