My Perfect Rainy Day {In Manhattan}

2011/05/23 § 6 Comments

It started with a bowl of wonton noodle soup, bahn mi and vietnamese rice pancake shared with a lovely friend for lunch (and a shakerful of Rye Manhattan)…

…as we chatted and swapped stories (and evesdropped on the Governor seated beside us) while taking in THIS view…

Then a  trek across Central Park in the mud and rain…

(which was fairly deserted and sparkling and decidedly gorgeous)

Back to the madding crowd  on the other side …to oggle at the luxurious shops along Madison Avenue

(when I win the lotto, I will buy everything displayed on one shop window)

Then a visit to fave La Maison du Chocolat…

…for a slice of Pistachesabayon with carribean dark chocolate, pistachio, cocoa dacquoise, almond and hazelnut feuillitine – avec Cafe Creme.  Sometimes, I love it when simple things are turned into ceremonies.  Cake and coffee or tea served in fine china and silverware.  Rough sugar cubes and mini chocolate balls in separate tiny plates.  A complimentary ganache.  To accompany the coffee.  Served by soft-spoken old gentlemen or ladies in impeccable suits and uniforms.  Who, delightfully, speak to me in French.  It’s so old world…and somehow so civilized… 

After a lovely time at la maison, it was time to admire real maisons – beautiful townhouses dotting the Upper East Side…

And then it’s back home.   And what do I find waiting for me?

A package!  I wonder who it’s from and what’s inside…[I LOVE gifts and surprises! ]

Tan-tada-dan!  BOOKS!  The Game of Thrones books…from J!!!  {Thank you!!!} Yippeee!  Yay!!

And how much better can a rainy day get?!

With four books to keep me occupied and to make staying in bed even better than it already is…

Tagged: , ,

§ 6 Responses to My Perfect Rainy Day {In Manhattan}

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Perfect Rainy Day {In Manhattan} at The Farm, The Sea and The Big City.

meta

